No announcement yet.

The Stages of Grief and How to Make the Grieving Process Easier No Matter Which St...

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • The Stages of Grief and How to Make the Grieving Process Easier No Matter Which St...

    The Stages of Grief and How to Make the Grieving Process Easier No Matter Which Stage You're At

    After experiencing a loss, everyone goes through some type of grieving process. It's the body and mind s way of helping you to get through, and recover from, a traumatic time.

    Though everyone deals with grief differently, you have likely heard of the five stages of grief,which were recently confirmed by a study in the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) as the typical grieving process in most people. These stages include:
    • Disbelief
    • Yearning
    • Anger
    • Depression
    • Acceptance

    While it was commonly thought that depression or sadness was the overriding feeling felt by those in grief, the study found that yearning is actually more prominent.

    "Up to now, people thought sadness was the most characteristic feature of bereavement, but these data show it is more about yearning and pining and missing the person, a hunger for having them come back," says senior author of the study Holly Prigerson, PhD, director of Dana-Farber's Center for Psycho-Oncology and Palliative Care Research.

    Though the five stages of grief are most common, some experts say there are actually seven stages of grief,in which guilt and bargaining are added to the five stages.

    How to Make the Grieving Process Easier

    Dealing with a loss is never easy, but those currently going through the grieving process can take comfort in the fact that time does help you to heal.

    The JAMA study found that, while grieving, negative symptoms typically peak by around six months after the loss, then begin to gradually decline. Further, during the two-year study, the participants were generally able to accept the loss, a key part of being able to move on in a healthy way.

    That said, there is no rule that says everyone must experience these stages of grief in order to feel better, and there is a tool called The Sedona Method that can actually help you to bypass some of these, often painful, stages.

    The Sedona Method teaches you how to let go of negative feelings that naturally arise from a loss. This doesn't mean that you no longer care for the person, only that you are allowing yourself to move on and experience feelings of happiness again.

    If you are letting go, often you can genuinely skip or radically compress the stages of grief,says Hale Dwoskin, CEO and Director of Training of Sedona Training Associates. "I would first let go of the anticipation that you need to go through all the stages of grief. Next I would recommend that you be open to the possibility that grief is just a feeling. It is not who you are, and you can let it go.

    The Method can be used at any stage of the grieving process, as it will show you how to tap your natural ability to let go of any unwanted feeling, on the spot.

    If you approach grief like a feeling that can be released, you will find yourself doing just that," Dwoskin says.
    Purchase Letting Go Movie on DVD
    Purchase Beyond Letting Go
    Purchase The Sedona Method Course
    Learn The Sedona Method in 2 hours.