Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who, What, How...

Hi Everyone:

Following Benjamen's suggested intro of 'who you are, what you do, how you found us', here goes:

My name is Gale. I live in rural Arkansas with my husband, Alan and a four-legged fur-child named Merlin. I wasn't born here. And neither was Alan. We just sort of ended up here due to a series of life's twists and turns. Funny thing is this isn't what either of us would have chosen. But it's OK. We've learned to appreciate the advantages and accept the disadvantages. My sense is that we'll be here a while longer, but not indefinitely.

I've been a therapist (mental health) for 30 years. I currently work as clinical director for an outpatient mental health program that serves a mostly rural population. If I had my druthers, I'd drop the administrative parts of my position and just do straight therapy and supervision. But that doesn't seem very practical right now. (Perhaps I need to do some releasing on that. ) My other avocation is humane (animal) welfare. When I lived in Dallas, I had the privilege of creating a pet therapy program for the SPCA of Texas. To date, that was my favorite work experience. These days, I scratch that itch by maintaining a website. The dog you see in my avatar is an American Bull Dog named Blanca. She passed away last year after a bout with cancer at the age of 12. Although she is not my current dog, she is still my inspiration for much of what I feel and sense about our relationship to animals and the natural world.