Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Releasing emotions works beautifully, releasing wants excruciating

Hi everyone,

I've been releasing or attempting to get this stuff right for a couple of years now. When I release emotions directly I instantly feel lighter and happier, more loving, the usual stuff. But when I attempt to release the wants it doesn't work at all. I end up apathetic and frustrated, often to the point of having headaches, painful body sensations, or feeling completely numb. However, once in a while (maybe every month or so) I'll be able to shift out of this state and feel alive and happy and the wants will fly out easily as soon as they come into awareness and everything is great. This only lasts an hour or so though until I get 'stuck' again.

In my current stuck state, as soon as I become aware of one of the wants I feel tense and painful and frustrated. This kinda sucks because I'm perceiving all my feelings as culminating in those wants all day!

I've tried everything I can think of or get my hands on. I think my massive breakthroughs happen when I honestly let go of wanting to control or change the stuckness but that is only a suspicion. Last time I got unstuck was when I was reading the 'steps to release the wants' bit in the sedona method book which was explaining how to get unstuck when stuck. It hasn't worked since. I don't think I'm successfully letting go of wanting to change or control the stuckness if 2 seconds later I'm checking to see if it worked.

Oh, and letting go of wanting to change or control a feeling that I'm feeling doesn't work to release it for me either. It's like the whole chapter in the SM book about your key to serenity doesn't work for some reason. The only thing that works to release feelings is letting them go directly (as is shown in the first part of the SM courses)