No announcement yet.

What do I do when I'm afraid to let go?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do I do when I'm afraid to let go?

I've been holding on to a particular issue for 10 years now, and I'm so afraid to let it go..I feel like something really bad will happen, and in the extreme, I feel like I'll die if I let it go. I just can't seem to drop it. I've tried letting go of wanting to change it but this doesn't really work.

Help!

What is the 'benefit' from holding on to it? From there I've been better able to pull apart the layers of the 'wants' that are caught up in the 'holding on'.

Comment

Originally posted by cameronwilliams View Post
      I've been holding on to a particular issue for 10 years now, and I'm so afraid to let it go..I feel like something really bad will happen, and in the extreme, I feel like I'll die if I let it go. I just can't seem to drop it. I've tried letting go of wanting to change it but this doesn't really work.

Help!

Cameron,

The triple welcoming process usually works quite well:

Welcome or notice the issue - all the memories, pictures, sounds and sensations.
      Welcome your reactions and feelings about it - feeling like something really bad will happen, like you'll die if you let it go, any other wants, including wanting to get rid of it or fix it.
      And then welcome the sense that it is personal, that it is you or about you.

I suggest you do that without any intention of letting go of the issue, just a simple exploration of what is.

You may need to do a few rounds of that.

Please also feel free to contact me for a complimentary releasing session, and to join my free support calls.

All the best,

Susan
      Susan Seifert
      Certified Sedona Method Coach
      http://www.yoursedonacoach.com
      Register for my Free Sedona Method Support calls

Comment

Dear Cameron,